With the new Snapchat update comes new helpful features and new ways to breach the privacy of Snapchat users. Let’s see first what’s in the recent updates and how does it help (or affect) you.
What comes with Snapchat’s new update notification?
People like to keep their apps updated and they should. Updates keep the apps away from bugs. They also introduce new features to ease your life.
So, you too have installed the updated Snapchat, not bad. But these new features make your life ‘more’ less-private. Let’s see them one-by-one:
1. Snap Map
The Snap Map puts your snaps on a map in real-time. This feature helps your friends (and also the stalkers) to know where you are and what you are doing. If you don’t keep your Snapchat’s friend list in check, Snap Map can be a big threat to your privacy.
2. Context Cards
The Context Cards display information about the snap you are viewing. With the stories integrated with these cards, you can see more snaps from a particular place, and other users can see yours. You might have to think about not posting stories anymore. By the way, steps for deleting Snapchat stories are provided below.
3. Social and Media
With the recent update, the Snapchat social media platform is now more personalized. Your social life, i.e. Chats and Stories from friends, are available in the left while the media from content creators and communities are in the right. With this, they also get a closer look at your profile, isn’t it?
Your snaps power their products, and in the long run, it helps them, not you.
How to delete Snapchat messages?
Whether you are text chatting or snap chatting with many friends, you may have sometimes sent the message to the wrong person. Unfortunately, there isn’t any un-send or delete switch for messages.
If you change your mind after sending a snap, you can do nothing about it. What’s sent is sent! You can though clear up your conversations list. It does not delete the messages and only removes the user from your chat feed.
- Go to Settings
- Tap on Clear Conversations.
- Now, you will see the recent chats with an X beside them.
- Tap on the individual X or tap on Clear All.
How to delete Snapchat story?
Snapchat stories are the snaps you post that are available for 24 hours. But what if you have posted an embarrassing one. You are lucky that unlike messages, stories can be deleted.
- Swipe left to go to the Stories tab.
- Open the story you want to delete and tap the little down arrow.
- From the list of option, tap on the trash can.
- Confirm, and the story is gone.
Now you know how to delete stories, you are a step closer to strengthening your privacy. But if you still not feel secure, I would suggest you use a VPN before deleting your account permanently.
Snapchat and VPNs
People use VPN to get some privacy while they are online. You can get the top VPN service and be sure no one can trace your location. When you connect to a VPN server, it masks your IP address and gives your device a new one that’s publicly available.
You can get a new address each time, making it difficult for Snapchat to collect information and personalize your experience. If you like a suggestion, there are some big names like ExpressVPN and IPVanish. Check our detailed VPN reviews to know more.
How to delete my account on Snapchat?
If you still aren’t sure about using Snapchat safely, you can delete it anytime you want. The process is easy, but you need to do it on a web browser. You can’t delete a Snapchat account on your iOS or Android apps.
- Open this page accounts.snapchat.com/accounts/delete_account
- Log into your account.
- Tick the captcha box.
- You are asked your login details again.
- Enter the details and click Continue.
- Your account is now deactivated.
After the successful deactivation, your profile is no longer visible. You have now 30 days before Snapchat permanently deletes your account. In case a change of mind occurs, you can activate your profile again within these 30 days.
You can log in with your old credentials to re-activate your account. After you log in, the re-activation process starts, and Snapchat sends you a mail once the account is active. But after 30 days those login data will no longer work.