How to Delete Twitter Account

Social media has changed the interaction between each other, and although Facebook might be the most popular, this is more focused on contacting people you know.

Twitter, on the other hand, has more focus on allowing individuals to converse with each other regardless if they know each other or not.

This is one of the features which makes it such a great tool for social engagement, but on the other hand, it can become tiresome if you end up in conversations that are related to controversial topics such as politics or religion.

Twitter can be hard to step away from, but there are reasons you should consider this. Here are a couple of overviews of why you might consider, and delete your account permanently.

twitter gather personal informationDoes Twitter Collect My Private Information?

First and foremost, Twitter isn’t the most privacy-conscious company and the extent of information they gather can include the following:

  • Basic account information – Name, email address, username and password, and telephone number.
  • Contact Information – Be careful when syncing your contact book, it retains all of your contacts on their servers. Any emails sent to Twitter are archived with any additional contact information for future use.
  • Location – if you use your smartphone to Tweet, then your location can be uploaded to Twitter.
  • Payment details – if for any reason you share your payment details such as credit cards, billing address, etc. with Twitter, this will be stored by them until you request removal.

Twitter doesn’t collect this information to not do anything with it, they use it for advertising and sending targeted ads to each of its users.

twitter securityIs Twitter Safe?

The platform itself is safe, but the way they use your information will compromise your privacy. This leaves you open to hackers or cybercriminals.

These types of people can quickly learn so much about a person on Twitter. From this, they can find a way of logging into accounts or your devices.

Downloading Your Archive Before Deleting Twitter

When you deactivate Twitter and delete your details, this would mean losing all of your tweets and other information.

You can quickly download all you have archived before you take the final step of permanent deletion. Here are the steps to download your archive form Twitter:

  1. Head to your Twitter account and log in
  2. In the top right-hand corner, click on your profile picture
  3. Navigate to, and then select settings
  4. Scroll down toward the bottom of the page and click “Request your archive.”
  5. You will be notified of your request, and then you will receive an email from Twitter when your archive is ready to download.

deleting twitter tipsHow Do I Delete My Twitter Account?

Once you have archived all of your personal data, you can then proceed to look how to deactivate Twitter account.

It should be noted, Twitter differs from other social media platforms because there is no temporary way to delete a Twitter account.

The way it differs is Twitter gives a 30-days grace period, and if you make any login attempt during this time, they will automatically be reactivating your account on your behalf.

If you don’t try and log in during this period, then you will have successfully deactivated your Twitter account and deleted it altogether.

It should be noted, you can’t delete your account from using the app, it must be completed through a web browser.

  1. Head to the Twitter website and log in with your username or email address followed by your password
  2. In the top right-hand corner of the browser window click your profile icon (profile picture)
  3. Head to the settings section
  4. Scroll down until you reach the bottom. You can start the process by clicking the deactivate button.
  5. There will be a page where you need to read all of the enclosed information, and then you can tap deactivate “Your Twitter Account Name.”
  6. Twitter makes sure this is something you want to do, so go to the next page and click deactivate again after entering your Twitter password.

That is all the steps how you delete your Twitter account, but if you check the steps on the Twitter website, there are a few other points they want you to go through before you start deleting your account.

  1. An account doesn’t need to be deactivated to change a username or an email address. These can be changed in your account settings.
  2. If you wish to use an email address or username on another account, they must be changed first and then they need to be confirmed before deactivation.
  3. Twitter state they don’t control the content that is indexed by search engines (Google or Bing)
  4. Once you deactivate your account, your Twitter account, public profile, username, and display name will not be shown on Twitter for Android, Twitter for iOS and twitter.com.

With one last attempt to get some information from you, the last thing they say at the bottom of the ‘Managing your account page’ on the website is “Thank you for the feedback, How could we improve this article?”

At this point, any user who has decided to delete their account has surely decided they are not willing to furnish Twitter with any more information than they already collected.

It might read better if they asked how they could improve their social platform rather than asking for feedback on how to delete a Twitter account.

More Steps for Protecting Your Internet Privacy

For whatever reason you have decided to delete your Twitter account, it is only a small step in protecting your online privacy.

Details which are stored by social media platforms or websites can’t be prevented, but they can be limited.

You should always be aware of what you are posting online, no matter who it is to. Any more than this and users in Australia and every other country should consider using a VPN to make sure they are safe from as many threats as possible.

Leave a Comment